aggiungi a preferiti Sixth to Ninth Grade Books - $12 (Waterville, ME) nascondi post mostra

 1 2 3 4 5

condizione: ottimo

Six paperback books in excellent condition with no tears, stains, or much yellowing. One book, What Happened to Janie? has some wear on the front cover. The collection includes four books by author Lurlene McDaniel. The others are by acclaimed author, Caroline Cooney. They have been stored in a clean, smoke-free, pet-free home. Appropriate for ages 13 and older.

Six Months to Live, copyright (1985)
I Want to Live, (1989)
So Much to Live For, (1991)
Don't Die, My Love, 1991

The first three books are about a girl named Dawn Rochelle, aged 13, who is diagnosed with leukemia. She has surgery and her illness goes into remission. The story reveals how her life is greatly affected as those around her. Dawn's cancer threatens her life again when she is 14 years old but has she has one more chance to live. She goes to a camp for survivors of cancer and makes friends with other survivors. These story books have life lessons to teach young readers.

Don't Die, My Love is about 6th graders Julie Ellis and Luke Muldenhower. They fall in love and begin dating in 8th grade. When they enter high school Luke, a football player, is diagnosed with cancer and has the will to survive. He passes away though he has had chemotherapy. Julie is devastated yet continues to feel compassion and love for Luke and carries on with her life.

McDaniels is well-known for writing about young teenagers who struggle with mortality and chronic illness. Her career began when her 3-year-old son was diagnosed with juvenile diabetes. Her writings were therapeutic for her as she supported her son. She also had relatives with cancer, diabetes, organ failure, and other problems. Her writing teaches teens how to respond to what life gives you no matter what happens. Her work has received much praise by parents, teachers, and reviewers, and mostly her readers.

The other books are by renowned author, Caroline Cooner. What Happened to Janie? is a companion to The Face on the Milk Carton. They are as follows:

What Happened to Janie? (1993)
The Face on the Milk Carton, copyright 1993

The story is about a 15-year-old girl, Janie Johnson, who has been kidnapped. One day she sees her face on a milk carton as a missing child. She becomes very shocked and curious. Her biological parents live in New Jersey. Eventually, she believes she was kidnapped by her present parents of thirteen years, the Johnsons. The story is very mysterious and suspenseful. In the end the Johnsons divulge that they indeed kidnapped her. The Face on the Milk Carton was adapted as a television series.

  • NON contattatemi con servizi o offerte non richiesti

ID annuncio: 6667736991



Best of [?]